Speakers dominate at Lena-Winslow tourney

ROCHELLE — On Saturday, Jan. 5, the Rochelle Township High School speech team took first place at the Lena-Winslow Invitational Tournament.  
Varsity results
Addison Curtis, first place Oratory; Mallory Leininger first place Original Comedy; Baxter Konstans and Joe Worthington were among the Hubs’ many silver medalists in Humorous Duet Acting.
Others taking seconds were Caitlin McMurray in Informative Speaking, Megan Thiravong in Extemporaneous, Curtis in Oratorical Declamation. Lauren Ponto earned a pair of silver medals; one for Prose Reading and Special Occasion Speaking, as did Ava Coglianese. Leininger  was second in Humorous Interpretation.
Other varsity members placing included Judy Fulgencio with third place in Dramatic Interpretation; Thiravong, fourth place in Humorous Interpretation; Faith Worthington, fourth place in Impromptu; Fulgencio, fourth place for Poetry Reading; Xavier Arriaga, fourth place in Radio Speaking and fifth place in Oratorical Declamation; Lilly Robertson, fifth place in Poetry; Morgan Haas, fifth place in Oratory; Maggie Duval, sixth place in SOS; Lilly Weston, sixth place in Extemporaneous; and Ariel Zuercher, seventh place in Dramatic Interpretation.
Novice results
The Novice team was successful as well.
Weston took first place in Impromptu speaking; Nick Hansen, first place in Informative Speaking; Ella Seebach, second place in Informative Speaking; Alyssa Schwanert, second place in Prose Reading; Victor Tenorio, fifth place in Oratorical Declamation; Jennifer Heinrich and Raquel Valle, sixth place as a Dramatic Duet as well as a  Humorous Duet Acting; and Hailey Miller, sixth place in Prose Reading.
 Coaches awarded Speaker of the Week honors to Mallory Leininger.


Video News